Sure, I don’t have kids, but:

I DO have common sense.

alright i’ll just come right out and say it. might make me sound like a soap box jerk,  but this, i feel, needs to be said:

parents: STOP BEING STUPID. I’ve helped raise many children up to their pre-teen years, so just because I’m not a parent doesn’t mean I don’t know what I’m talking about.  I’m sure there’s lots I still have yet to learn, but hear me out, folks.

I don’t understand why some parents go to great lengths to have their child super attached to something like a certain blanket, stuffed animal, toy, or pacifier. I can see using it to temporarily soothe/occupy the kid, but doing it just because “oh i was attached to my blankey, so they need to be too!” seems silly. To insist they become reliant on having it at all times….. is just asking for trouble later on…just let your kid discover for themselves what they like/love or don’t need. if they want it, they’ll let you know, you don’t have to shove it in their face. it’s kind of like when a kid falls down, and you rush to them, making a fuss, “ooooooh poor baby that must have hurt! ouch! it’s okay i got ya, you can cry, i got ya” AUGH! Stupid! they just stumbled, they didn’t break an arm! bumps and bruises and busted lips happen! Let them decide how to feel, don’t superimpose your emotions on them. acknowledge how THEY feel, and that they fell….and show them how we get back up when we fall. shake it off, and if they’re okay then go back to what your doing. if it’s an obvious pain, THEN you soothe them to their hearts content. but you still need to show them how to get back up and shake it off….it sounds like I’m old fashioned “we’re raising our kids to be a bunch of sissys!” and I guess I kind of am. but the biggest problem I really see with it, is not that they’re being conditioned to be “sissy’s” but that they don’t know how to be an appropriate amount of self sufficient, they have lower self confidence, BUT at the same time, are learning how to become completely self absorbed. maybe that doesn’t make sense to you, but I’ve seen such huge personality differences between the different ways parents handle the stumbles and falls…. I just felt like I needed to get that off my chest, so now I’m stepping off my soapbox and you can crucify me all ya want, but that’s what I think about that, whether you like it or not. 😛

.hb.

Leave a Reply

