Leftover Almond Pulp: Homemade Granola…Bars?

Sorry I haven’t got to try the hummus recipe yet– I was craving some homemade granola instead. The cravings talk, I usually listen…carefully. 🙂

Now, If you know anything about my cooking style, it’s that I don’t like to use measuring utensils. I like to eyeball it, and I’m usually pretty good at it! Note the word, “usually.”

Well, in life everything is trial an error and this time around was no different. I tried to make healthy delicious granola bars, but the recipes I drew inspiration from didn’t exactly produce the results I had hoped. still yummy, just not what I wanted.

Lesson 1: the granola crumbles in the baking pan (dark pan) got burnt, while the “bars” in the glass baking dish were perfectly and delightfully  toasted to perfection.

Lesson 2: If the mixture before putting it in the pan  isn’t sticky; if it doesn’t form stable globs of granola, then it probably wont hold form as a “Bar” (it’s still delicious, but messier. Harder for “on the go breakfast” which was my intent in the first place.)

Lesson 3: Sometimes…I guess…It MIGHT beeee….(good? helpful? beneficial?) to actually follow only one consistent recipe instead of being so sure of yourself in the kitchen. *sigh* there I said it. Let’s move on. haha!

Recipe I used:

  • preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • mix in an extra large bowl these ingredients:
  • 3 cups steel cut oats (rolled oats will work fine as well.)
  • 1 cup almond pulp (I dried mine in the oven for 4 hours on the lowest temp, and refrigerated it for later use such as this.)
  • 1 cup lightly chopped walnuts
  • 1 half cup lightly chopped almonds (I needed more crunch.)
  • 1 cup milled flax seed
  • 1 cup Grape Nuts cereal (woah, settle down I know it’s a manufactured cereal, but I like the crunch. omit if you desire.)
  • 3 tablespoons cinnamon powder
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon ginger powder
  • set bowl aside.
  • in a saucepan melt together these ingredients:
  • 8 tablespoons of butter (not the fake kind, people. read a label.) this means a whole stick
  •  cup raw honey (whatever kind you have will work)
  • 1/2 cup applesauce (i wanted to decrease the butter by half and use this in replacement of the 4 Tbs of butter, but a recipe I saw added all of both, so I stifled my instincts and added both–next time, I will use half or none of the butter.)
  • 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract (not imitation)
  • when it’s all melted and mixed together, pour over the dry ingredients in your big bowl. mix it up with a rubber spatula, or wooden spoon until evenly incorporated.
  • Next I added 2 cups of Craisins (dried cranberries) and one cup semi sweet chocolate chips and folded them in.
  • Now, you can line a baking sheet with parchment paper, or just grease the pan like I did. Pour out bowl onto baking pan. (I had to use 2 different pans, one to make bars, and the other to make it into cereal) I would suggest using glass bakeware.
  • pop into oven and leave it for a half hour–check it in 15 minutes to stir if you’re doing granola crumbles and not bars. My oven tends to cook things faster than recipes call for, so you may need to leave it in for a whole hour–your judgement call.
  • It will become crispy as you let it cool, so break it up into pieces, or slice into bars before it becomes too hard.

and there you have it! pretty simple, pretty good. the only thing that went wrong was the sticky factor. I think I will puree prunes, or raisins and add to the melted butter and applesauce and honey mixture–or omit the butter entirely. also, I felt the ginger was unnecessary, and cinnamon was excessive. I should have only used half the amount, and maybe a whole cup of choc chips.

If I used Pure Maple Syrup for the bonding mix instead of honey, it would have been fine and I would have omitted the cocoa powder and craisins, and used raisins and ginger instead for a more maple complementing flavor. But I was going for a fruity and dark chocolatey taste.

So this adventure was a learning experience, not a bad one either. I only burnt a small portion of the crumbles, so not a lot of waste. The bars are actually crumbly, but they still taste delicious. So overall, I think it was a good experience.

oh yea, store these in the glass bakeware dish with the matching lid, or in any other airtight container.

I will be making another batch of almond milk within a couple days, so I will try the hummus recipe on that batch of almond pulp. stay tuned! 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kale (@thadass)
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 09:55:23

    Fantastic! Just started making almond milk and can’t imagine wasting the pulp. I’ll be trying a variation on this tonight.

    Reply

    • .Hollywould.
      Apr 07, 2013 @ 21:14:22

      make sure to decrease butter amount and increase the “glue” amount such as honey or maple syrup, or whatever you choose. 🙂 Also, check out the muffin recipe i put up here, those are the bomb if you’re into that sort of treat. super easy, and devoured as quick as they’re made! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

