Creamy Chicken Bites aka My Hubs’ New Favorite Dish.

So, I like to save money on groceries just like the rest of the world. One way I do this is by buying “chicken cut up” or, a whole chicken, cut up, but you have to de-bone and de-skin it yourself. I boil it with celery leaves, celery seed, basil, parsley, and black pepper. I keep the cooked chicken either in the fridge or freezer until ready to use, depending on how soon I’ll make a meal requiring it. I also keep the broth from the boil, in a big tupperware bowl, and keep in the freezer. then I use that broth one or two more times to boil another chicken; on the last boil adding carrots and onions. When the broth is right, I use that for homemade chicken noodle soup, or any recipe which calls for broth. Waste not, want not! šŸ™‚

So I had about 2 chicken breast and a thigh still left to use up in the freezer. I put it in the fridge the night before to thaw out.

Creamy Chicken Bites

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts shredded/diced, (I had an extra thigh so I used it)

3oz. cream cheese

2 Tbs. butter

1 cup of diced onions

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 packages of crescent roll dough

(salt and pepper and Italian seasonings to taste)

Directions:

preheat oven to 375 degrees

sautee the onions and garlic.

when the butter and cream cheese is at room temp, (softened) use a mixer to blend.

add the sautee mixture to the bowl.

warm up the shredded chicken in either the skillet, microwave, or oven whichever you prefer.

add the chicken and seasonings to the bowl and blend with the handheld mixer.

unroll the crescent roll dough and divide into the triangles.

scoop a tablespoon of the chicken mix onto the triangle.

fold/roll up the mixture in the dough and seal off edges to make a ball.

use a pastry brush to lightly brush olive oil over the top of the chicken bites.

bake for about 10-12 minutes until golden brown.

you now have a great main dish, or part appetizer!

Clint hasn’t stopped complimenting me on how good they were and how impressed he was with how delicious they were!

we tried them plain, and with all kinds of condiments: ketchup, mustard, BBQ sauce, and ranch dressing. It seems our favorite was mustard, with ranch at a close second, and BBQ in third. But honestly, these are wonderful as a stand along as well!

Hope you like it!

I just made some more almond milk tonight, so the next recipe I will be trying out will involve some leftover almond pulp! šŸ™‚

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clint
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 06:22:05

    Uh, delicious. So freaking delicious.
    My wife is awesome.

    Reply

  2. Jennie Kelly
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 13:38:39

    WOW! This sounds SO DELICIOUS! I will definitely be trying this next week. It’s the best of both worlds – chicken and little pastry balls!!

    Reply

  3. mrsbowles
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 21:28:44

    That does sound good! I just need some dough…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

